Rattled But Laughing

It’s typical in the life of a believer who is sold out for God – one thing after the other.  It started in January and then it stopped… only for a ‘brief’ time just to rear its ugly head again!  Doors had finally opened to begin the task, the passion that had been spurring me on to stay put, after having been here on the field for 13 years –  despite the discomforts.  Various types of rattling began to hit me from all around – who would imagine a mongoose coming into an apartment on a pretty high up floor ?  Little injuries but yet that incapacitate, asthma attacks, finances not coming in etc.  Then a few months later, a few obstacles seemed detrimental, so we took a step back.. Now after heart to heart discussions, recently we started to dive back into this particular branch of ministry.

Ahhh and then the mongoose began to appear at night but this time leaving pooh and hair and dust..  making me get asthma and also have to spend more time cleaning and washing the linen etc.   Finances dipped pretty badly again..  Injuries to my joints all in the house mind you, sent me once again to rest.  Oh and today, at the supermarket, the manioc yam tore through the bag and hit my toe before bouncing onto the floor – to the extent that it actually peeled the yam a bit too!!

For a few months by this time, my laptop wifi adpater began to play up… It goes missing altogether.  Restarting it usually solves the issue and if not, worst comes  to worst, a little time of shut down to cool the laptop down and then starting it does it.  In between all this, it refused to show up again despite a few days away… I couldn’t go online, I couldn’t do any of my research or writing let alone posting..  Getting fed up, as soon as I got some cash I decided to buy an external USB adapter chosing to do that over stocking up on groceries.

Happily came home with that, it was the time the floods were overtaking the nation so our internet coverage decided to drop.  Finally on the afternoon the next day, I got the adapter going, and guess what?  Yes! You guessed right.. the internal adapter decided it was time to show its presence and work too!  Arrrghhh..  Yet despite the ‘waste’ of money, I was thrilled that I could get back to work..

Then the next day, a few of the keys on my keyboard decided it was time to have fun.  It was going wild and doing everything but what it’s supposed to do!  Hmmm what if it was having mood swings like the wifi adapter.  I decided to wait it out, dusted the keys.. nothing..  The third day I called in a technician and he said that for these situatons, the only solution is to replace the keyboard.. He went shopping and came back saying this model wasn’t to be found and that he will order one.  If at all they deliver it, it will be another few weeks.

In the interim, I had to do more shopping to waste more money.. to buy an external usb port which seems to love slipping about,  triggering other functions and also disconnect time to time too! But I’m grateful that I can still do SOME work with this instead of NO work, even though not as productive as when the laptop was fully functional as it is meant to be!

The interesting part in all this was that God’s peace and grace never left me..  At one point, I couldn’t stop laughing at what kept coming my way – it’s almost like Mr Bean or some fictional stories where stupidity prevails..  I kept feeling sorry for the devil who thought he could even kill steal and destroy what God has planned! How pathetic that he still doesn’t realise who God is!  I kept thanking God that His hands were wrapped around me.

I thanked God for the time that I had now to spend with Him without distraction of even the ministry work.  When I got ‘words’ from Him, I would just jot it down with pen and paper.. and I just used all these ‘breaks’ – harm of the enemy that God turned around for good – to recharge, restore and revive myself.. I the process the Holy Spirit downloaded much wisdom and revelation into my spirit!

When we walk in God, we can NEVER NEVER be losers no matter how the world perceives it.  God’s wisdom is foolishness to the ways of the world.. but we see how precious it is.. We see the beauty of how God uses it for our GOOD.. to  mould us and prepare us..

With all this rattling, I was just laughing.. Troubles, perishing bodies are part and parcel of life..

For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all 2 Corinthians 4:17

But more importantly, we take heart:

They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORDPsalm 112:7

 You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you Isaiah 26:3

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 1 Peter 5:10

 

Leave a Reply

