In the Genes

More often than ever, I have had people asking me about my ‘exercise routine’.  Ummmm… is my initial response!  The most amusing thing is that when I was 17, I recall a similar interaction between a visitor and my mum.  My mum would just laugh when she was asked that.  After the visitor left, I asked her whether I would get her figure as I was just this thin stick of a person!  My brother overhearing this quickly did a ‘catwalk’ in the hall claiming that he would be the one to get the figure.  Thank God it didn’t happen that way round!

Exercise routines and diets are certainly not my cup of tea.. I recall stepping in to the gym when I was about 19 years old with a desire to put on weight.  Two visits there – one with the ‘trainer’ and the next totally humiliating myself not knowing how to do the rounds, I stayed clear of any such premises.

Yes, it’s all in the GENES. What does it mean to you to have your parents genes?  Whatever genes you have inherited from them gives you the capacity and potential to be able to accomplish or be like how they are (or were).  I find it amusing that my brother’s son who is miles away has so much resemblance to me – appearance, personality and capabilities.  Genes are pretty powerful!

How often do we forget that beyond our natural genes, we have the genes of our Heavenly Father?  He created us – you and me both – in HIS image and in HIS likeness.

Of course God’s wisdom is much much greater than our wisdom without a doubt!  Yet.. we all do somewhat have the capacity (not to the same extent obviously!) of abilities and talents and nature of God. Jesus did indeed say, ‘whoever believes in Me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these” (John 14:12).

(Yet we also seek discernment in what we do as not all good things are God things.. and there is a time and a purpose for everything.  We do bear in mind that even Satan attempted to tempt Jesus with ‘great things’).

Often we over under-estimate ourselves or we allow fears given to past failures or due to things that we have seen or heard of or we have allowed the enemy to speak into our lives through the taunts, mockery, condemnation, belittling of both loved ones out of their ignorance and shortcomings and from those who envy us.

It doesn’t matter if you are rejected by humans!  That’s NOT who you are!!!

Jesus is “the Living Stone -rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to HIM” (1 Peter 2:4).  You also, like living stones are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood (v.5.).

Reject the lies of the enemy – his ways are often to use loved ones.. Always seek discernment from God to understand that SOURCE of the words that are being spoken over us and REBUKE those words.  Do not give the enemy the foothold and let that bring you down.  Discern the schemes of the evil one.  Often we do not do this! why?

We forget who we are in Christ…

If you have believed in Jesus and received Him and if you are being led by the Spirit then you are INDEED Children of God…

God is the King of Kings.. so being His children makes us PRINCES and PRINCESSES.  Are you gonna whip your crowns out this very moment?  What do your crowns look like?

You are a chosen people

A Royal Priesthood

A Holy Nation

God’s special possession

Live out the potential that God has created you for.. step into the calling, shrug off the lies the enemy has spoken, ask God for healing from whatever prevents you from doing what HE would want you to do remembering that not everything that is going on out in the world is right or good for us!

and most importantly live the purpose God has created you for:

That you may declare the praises of Him who call you out of darkness into His wonderful light.

Leave a Reply

