Reflections

Effective study of the Bible involves much meditating on scripture and reflecting on it. What was the geographical, physical, cultural setting of it?  Was it an isolated incident or is there are recurring pattern?  How does it fit in with the rest of the Bible?  Who are the characters involved?  What did they do right and what did they do wrong?  How did God respond?  What does this tell us about God’s nature and attributes?  What were the choices of each word? Why?  What are the take home lessons?  Are they applicable only for that particular situation or do they translate to today’s context too?  How is God speaking to us in our particular circumstance of now?   The list goes on.. and we seek the illumination and revelation from the Holy Spirit to teach us, to inspire us!

Likewise in life, we reflect on what is going on in our lives, what we see in other people’s lives..   Sometimes what we see in other peoples’  lives could be an indicator of what we are doing wrong as we are seeing through our own coloured lenses.  Other times what we see could be a lesson learnt as a precaution for us to avoid it.  How people hurt us is yet another lesson to make sure we don’t repeat that and hurt others.

We take all what we observe and what is being told to God’s feet and ask God to search our hearts and reveal any areas that He needs us to set right, to transform that are not in accordance to His image.

The world operates so differently from the way God operates.  The enemy also schemes to pull us unaware.  We are called to be alert at all times.. Reflections is a means to be alert.

The world will be about targets, numbers, name, fame etc.  Yet yielding to God’s will is the opposite – it’s about God’s glory. Likewise the freedom of this blog is as I promised to God when I finally obeyed His nudging, is that it’s NOT about numbers, it’s not about pleasing people but it’s about penning the things He lays on my heart to pen.

My blog is called ‘Reflections’ and what I talk about above is the basis of my writing, where God leads me to reflect and write on what I’m learning, write on how He is working in me.. Sometimes I share on how God is working through me.. but that’s not the focus.

Unfortunately the WordPress domain names of combination of the ministry name KENOSIS was already taken.. and feeling fed up I had to finally reluctantly retort to using my name as the domain. To make up for that, I used Kenosis Ministries as the username.

Kenosis is a Greek word for self-emptying.. and the motto is More of Christ, Less of Me.  This blog isn’t for income (there is absolutely no revenue from this), nor for my name or fame..and that’s the freedom I have… I can just obey Him and let Him flow through me.

If I share anything about myself, it’s not boasting about myself let alone bringing me to the limelight, but rather acknowledging what He has done in my life.. and how He has brought me through.  Sufferings, struggles all I count as blessings as He uses them to refine me and to renew me..
As believers, we don’t function to please people but rather to please God!

Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ – Galatians 1:10

Those of us who have prophetic or discernment gifts see through situations differently.. and often such people are accused of judging.  Yet we can’t quench the gift that God has imparted to us.  We stand in obedience to please God..

The Bible is clear in last days how many preachers and teachers would be:

For the time will come when people will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear – 2 Timothy 4:3

Those who are surrendered to God and desiring God’s Kingdom wouldn’t try to please the listener or the reader..Instead, it’s about the Ultimate Author, to bring Him the glory..

The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit – 1 Corinthians 2:14

God does make it clear that many are called but only a few are chosen.. It takes the ones who are prepared to be led by the Spirit (which is like being blown by the wind) to be able to walk on that narrow path.  It takes the ones who come across as foolish in the eyes of those who walk in the majority to be the chosen ones.

The things of the Spirit can be discerned only through the Spirit.. and the ways of God are much higher than the ways of the world.. In fact they are quite the opposite.  That is what it means to be transformed by the renewing of your mind.. to not conform to the ways of the world and perhaps even come across as foolish with illogical arguments! So be it!

Leave a Reply

