I Will Be Right Here Waiting

Where ever you go

Whatever you do

I will be right here waiting for you

Whatever it takes

Or how my heart breaks

I will be right here waiting for you

Do you know how it feels when you wake up and suddenly you have a song in your head and you just can’t get it out of your system?  Yesterday, it was a Tamil Christian song and today was this secular song.. Both are songs that I don’t sing or have heard in recent times.  Yesterday’s song was uplifting and timely.  As I was pondering on the lyrics of this song, so many emotions and responses registered in my head.  Thankfully no one was around to watch the reactions that were inevitable on my face!

I guess a counsellor or a pscyhologist would react to someone singing these words with fear… fear that they are delusional or not realistic and fantasising, that it is an ‘unhealthy’ relationship.  My first response was how pathetic – “Whatever you do”??? REALLY?  Would a person with healthy boundaries be waiting for someone who is doing whatever they want to do?  Imagine if it’s drugs or sleeping around or murder or even selfish ambition ….the list grows.  Do whatever you want and come back, I will be waiting??

The typical analytical side of me didn’t stop reflecting on that. and suddenly OUCHHHH, I got a nudge from God!  “Isn’t that how I am towards MY Children?  Do I not just wait for each of My children to do their own thing and walk along the broad path and hopefully return to Me and My ways, the NARROW path?”

Oh gosh! Yes indeed He is waiting for us not matter how His heart breaks He is right there waiting for each one of us.  And trust me, the list I mentioned above for ‘whatever it is you do’ – well what breaks God’s heart doesn’t have to be so drastic!  Whatever we do that He doesn’t want us to do or whatever we don’t do that He wants us to do breaks His heart.

For example, He has asked us to love each other as ourselves and Jesus Christ further placed the standard to as He has loved us.  How often do we fail in this area?  We love those who are nice to us but we block those by whom we feel challenged or threatened.  That to God, breaks His heart as that is sin, not a godly thing. It is by our love for one another that we will be known as His disciples – and that’s what Jesus said, not what I’m saying!

God does embrace us despite us having broken His heart in so many ways.  Yet He doesn’t accept empty words… He expects sincere repentance from us.  Yes He is patient with us but He wants honesty, sincerity.. a heart that is broken and contrite He will not despise.. He is watiing for us to acknowledge and repent.. Repentance comes with change.. there may be stumbling and the steady change may take time but that’s what He wants from us – just like a little baby taking it’s first wobbly step and falling over.  Gradually the child succeeds in another step and another step an soon it is walking!  That’s what God wants from us – walking in Him!  A true worshipper worships in Spirit AND in truth.  One or the other won’t suffice!

After that sharp nudge, God asked me why I responded to that song – as secular as it is – the way I did,  Loving one another means waiting and accepting those who come back with a change of heart, with repentance just like God does.  It takes humility to accept those who have hurt us, it takes pride to shun!  Are we humbled by God’s grace to us?  Are we willing to throw away pride and accept the ‘prodigal sons’ in our lives who made a sincere commitment to God to change?

I hear the laughter, I taste the tears

But I can’t get near you now

God is hearing your laughter, He is tasting your tears.. And He is lamenting that He can’t get near to you now as you are too busy with other things, things of the world and blocking Him out – even things that pretend to be of Him!  Will you come back to Him today? Will you come back to the point where His heart doesn’t have to break over you anymore but where you can simply rest enveloped in His love and know true joy?

The Words of Jesus come to mind now,

“How I long to gather You under my arms as a hen gathers her chicks under its wings”.

Leave a Reply

