To be: Ripped Or Not?

Let’s get talking here.. Guys, girls..  I want to hear your opinions on a guy getting ‘RIPPED’ – with those 6 packs and bulging muscles.

Before I express my view points and opinions, let me make it clear that I’m not judging anyone and at the end of the day each one’s interests priorities are between them and God.. We are called to ‘love’ one another as ourselves and God gives us free will.  However, what I’m attempting to do here is hear one another out and get people thinking about it.. In every area of our lives we submit it to God as our bodies are the temple of God.. and anything that comes in the way of God and us is an idol in God’s eyes.

So now to the topic and my perspective on it 🙂

I see my fb newsfeed full of guys and girls going all out to the gym.  Then taking that one step further I see guys and girls posting their diets, posting their every update of their body ‘improvements’ and also flexing their muscles / posing to show their achievements in every picture.

SHE SAID (from me!):

Personally, I don’t get attracted to guys who are ripped and bulging.  I don’t want a hard stone of a chest or muscles in my husband as I want a guy I can cuddle into..  I don’t want my bones being crushed and I don’t want my skin sporting bruises by a ‘TOUGH’ guy!

In my eyes, a guy looking toned and being healthy is awesome, slim – I love it!

Besides I find it really VAIN when a guy is consistently checking calories and constantly taking selfies in front of the mirror.  I find it ARTIFICIAL when a guy is going out for his protein shakes.. and I find it boring when so many food items are rejected.  I love to cook, I love to explore cuisines.. and I would like to have a husband who can enjoy that, a husband who knows MODERATION.  A husband who can have a BALANCED life and I personally believe that a man who is rooted in God will increasingly display the fruit of the Spirit – one attribute of which is SELF CONTROL.

I believe fitness is GOOD, I believe fitness is HEALTHY.. however, I believe like with everything there is a fine line to it.. Anything that enhances is good.  Our bodies are the temple of God and we take care of our bodies – that’s good stewardship.  However when we step over the fine line (as with anything in life – whether it be with make up or clothing or beauty treatments or earning / storing wealth or progressing in education / career advancement and even our ministries and our music etc) then our focus becomes that..

That’s how we can ‘check’ if we have stepped over the fine line or not… how is this taking up our time?  In what proportions are we focusing on getting ripped (or anything else) compared to relationships with God and with others?  Is this robbing time loving God with ALL our heart, ALL our soul, ALL our mind, ALL our strength?  Is this robbing time loving our neighbour AS OURSELF?  Is this robbing our other resources in addition to time – finances, talents, gifts, emotions etc?

The more we are focused on our IMPROVEMENT, we can begin to IDOLISE ourselves! My looks, my appearances, my comforts, my career advance, my bank balance, my security, my comfort, my diets… and the centre of SIN is “I”… The “I” leads us to the worldly broad path away from the narrow path that God has set out for us.  The “I” focuses on me forgetting the purpose of us being created and placed on earth isn’t about I but about God and His Kingdom.. As Jesus says, no man can serve two masters – no one can serve God and serve money…

The Bible makes it clear that believers will seek FIRST His Kingdom and His righteousness.  As much as we need to take care of our bodies, we also need to bear in mind that our bodies are INDEED perishing.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day – 1 Corinthians 4:16

Yes, so personally my perspective is that a guy who is getting ripped is focusing on his flesh.. and i would any day welcome or desire a guy who is focused on being renewed inwardly day by day.. who remembers priorities 🙂

Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all this (needs) will be added to you – Matthew 6:33

Wouldn’t our youth and vigour be restored too?

2 thoughts on “To be: Ripped Or Not?

  1. Madam,I believe in God and I have read everything but today’s life is very competitive to grow money power and maximum human being consider that money and wealth are must in our life,they don’t think about their spiritual life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

