Me Me Me!

Do you like the song ‘Heart of Worship’ by Hillsong United?  I love it and often when I sing it, I get CONVICTED!

If I’m honest with myself – ouch – I have to admit the times I’m feeling low is because the focus has shifted to me! My feelings, my comforts, my needs, my struggles, my health, my appearance, my loneliness and even sometimes my MINISTRIES too ..  It’s then all about my life and my ‘lacks’.

If we truly loved God with our ALL – with ALL our heart, ALL our soul, ALL our mind, ALL our strength will we be able to focus on me and myself?  As we get swept over with the trends of the world, we often don’t renew our minds and thus we forget why we are here on earth in the first place!  We become like Eeyore, ‘Oh no… this is such a bad day… nothing is going right’ instead of taking the attitude of Tigger, “it’s a bouncy pouncy tiggerific day”.

Hang on, it’s not wrong to feel emotions – God created us with those emotions!!  We see Jesus expressing emotions too – He cried, He wept, He got angry, He rebuked, He lashed out, He was troubled.  We read of many emotional characters in the Bible – the Psalms echo much as well.  Yet the key thing is not to stay put in those emotions, not to get wrapped up in them.. We use the emotions to pour out our soul and get rid of the anguish, to heal… We reach out to God and we reach out to one another for comfort – as God says with the comfort He has given us we comfort one another.   Mourning lasts for the night, joy comes in the morning!

If we are a part of THE body of Christ, we will automatically feel and share in the joys and sorrows of one another.  We are connected together with Christ as the head.  Being a part of the church isn’t necessarily being a part of the Body of Christ unless you are at the point of loving your neighbor beginning with other believers as yourself.  Many churches are made up of members that are grouped with smiles and hi’s at the time of gatherings but there is no connection other than that. Being a part of the Body of Christ goes deeper, builds up relationships.

If we are indeed spending time in His presence, we will be refueled and spurred by His love.. and that gives us the capacity to love one another, shifting our focus on ME to others. If we love Him we will indeed love one another as ourselves.  How are we treating other believers that God has placed in our path?  Why do we treat them the way we do?  Where do we stand with God? Are we treating each other the way God loves us?  Are we ignoring, running away, blocking one another?  (Of course we are called to be harmless as doves but wise as serpents – if someone is hurting us or manipulating us then we can pull away AFTER having followed the steps that Jesus has asked us to in Matthew 18).  Is the way you are treating other believers how God loves you?  Are we known as His disciples by our love for one another?  Why do we do what we do?  Where do we stand in God?  Have we allowed Him to flow through us?  If so, we will be able to see others through HIS eyes as opposed to trusting in our own wisdom or protecting our own (things and people) or scheming against one another!

Let’s ask the Holy Spirit to search our hearts and today – and when we do sing the song may we be singing not with the tip of our tongues but from the bottom of our hearts sincerely in all truth!

The problem is when we focus on ME we make it all about us when it’s really never about us!

When the music fades

All is stripped away

And I simply come

Longing just to bring

Something that’s of worth

That will bless Your heart

 

I’ll bring You more than a song

For a song in itself

Is not what You have required

You search much deeper within

Through the way things appear

You’re looking into my heart

 

I’m coming back to the heart of worship

And it’s all about You

It’s all about You, Jesus

I’m sorry Lord for the things I’ve made it

When it’s all about You

It’s all about You, Jesus

 

King of endless worth

No one could express

How much You deserve

Though I’m weak and poor

All I have is Yours

Every single breath

Leave a Reply

