Brain and Body In Sync

Have you had times where you have been going with the flow and performing a task without having to think about what you are doing?  If someone were to stop you and ask you how you did that, you would then end up scratching your head as you have no idea how to explain what you have done.  For example, I touch type at about 80 wpm in English. I can also use the same English keyboard to touch type in Tamil at a fairly decent speed. My eyes don’t look at the keyboard when I type – it’s glued on the screen or the relevant documents I’m translating.  So many people have commented on how my fingers fly on the keyboard and like to just sit and watch. They wonder how I do it! If you were to ask me (or anyone who touch types) which key is where, seriously I would have no idea! My fingers seem to know but consciously my brain wouldn’t!

I was thinking today how beautifully they are in sync – the brain and the fingers – that they simply function together. They go hand in hand – oh wait, should I say brain in hand?! arrghh no, that doesn’t sound right does it!

On the other hand, when we learn something new we have to consciously think of every step, pausing along the way to remember what’s next and how.  It takes a lot of practice to come to the point not having to consciously remember it. (Reminds me of Math formulas and why teachers get students to practice a lot!).

When we come to think of it, our spiritual walk isn’t that much different is it?

The more we spend time with the Father in relationship, the more we surrender to the Holy Spirit to lead us and the more we get to know Jesus, the living Word – the more our flesh is emptied of the ways of the world and filled with the things of the Spirit.  Being led by Him becomes automatic, not something we need to then consciously think of.  It becomes second nature then to seek His perfect and pleasing will in everything we do instead of bull dozing our way through and then suddenly wondering, ‘Hang on’!

Jesus told Nicodemus,

“Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit  gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” – John 3:5-8

Imagine a leaf caught in the wind… It can begin to fly in one direction, it be tossed to and fro, it could go backwards, it could be lifted up, it could be falling down – it could also possibly do all of the above in the one situation! It all depends on where the wind pleases to blow!  Just drifting along, going with the flow, surrendered…without a care in the world!

Whenever I read this passage, I think of those who are born of the Spirit as those who are like that leaf in the wind – allowing the Holy Spirit to lead us where our Heavenly Father would want us to according to His perfect plan, knowing that the work of Jesus Christ on the cross is over and that our cares have been taken away by His yoke!

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

Yet many of us like to take that load back after placing it at the cross and choose to live with that unnecessary burden of life!

The more we can surrender it over to Him, all the cares of the world, then we can be easily led by the Holy Spirit.. Our fingers will be flying automatically spelling out each word of the book of life without having to plan the chapters… Each word, each sentence, each punctuation mark, each paragraph, each chapter will simply unfold second by second, minute by minute.. The story of our life will unfold when we don’t have to consciously plan, when we are born again of the Spirit.

Are you willing to just surrender and live under the leading of the Holy Spirit without consciously having to think of what you in your flesh would like to do!

Leave a Reply

