Separation or Rejection

I go down memory lane to the age of 3 with my older brother.  My mum joined dad in the UK leaving us for a year with my aunt.  Naturally I began to think of my aunt as my mum and one fine day, I found myself bundled into a British Airways plane with my brother.  Glimpses of memories flash by me.  I remember myself howling away and my aunt being allowed on board till take off.  The poor air hostesses were trying to pacify me with this that and the other.  My brother of course took advantage of the empathy and got to sit in the cockpit totally fascinated and distracted.

Not long after we were reconciled with my mother, I was sent to day care and once again I remember howling perched at the window simply refusing to nudge let alone stop the crying.  I even recall one of the teachers flicking my mouth out of impatience.  Of course now I realise that I suppose to that young little heart it would have been fear of losing this mother and that mother – repeat episodes.

It doesn’t matter whether it’s in regards to a friendship or a family / partner relationship, being forced apart from one we love is tough. The more intensive the bond one has felt towards the other, the more transparent and real we have been, when the other pulls away or completely rejects or leaves you in the dark, it hurts like crazy.  If there was bullying or abuse or even being led astray from God, one can understand the need for the distance or cut off.  However, if it’s due to ‘hard work’ or things not going one’s way or if it’s due to insincerity or perhaps even fear of where things will head – it’s easy to RUN away. However, it really does hurt the person left behind.

Today I was going through a time of despair feeling pretty lonely and ‘stuck’ in my various situations with everything seeming opposite for seems to be toooooo long to what I believe God has said and promised.  I thank God for two of my friends who gave me a lending ear and for God comforting me directly, through them and also through various FB posts!

How often do we have too much of pride to want to just kick them out for treating us like dirt, for not being thoughtful of our feelings and trying to sort things out and work things through like the way Jesus has told us to do?  Yes God has called us to be harmless as doves and wise as serpents.  There are times (as mentioned above) we have to be wise.  However the times we need to be harmless as doves and we try to be wise in our human flesh to protect our feelings and fears too, we do SIN against God as we aren’t obeying His Word in loving one another.  Rejecting His people that He has placed in our lives is rejecting Him too!

Through this hurting process today, I WEPT thinking how often do we do this not just one to another but to God Himself!  How often do we focus on ourselves, our needs, our comforts, our fleshly desires and let God wait for us to turn to Him?  How often do we take God for granted? How often do we have pride when it comes to others and don’t want to humble and reconcile when an estranged person reaches out, but we want God to wait with His arms stretched open?  How often are we REJECTING God and SEPARATING from HIM?

Israel demanded a king and Samuel prayed to the LORD.  God’s response:

“for they have not rejected you, but they have rejected me from being king over them. According to all the deeds that they have done, …. forsaking me and serving other gods, so they are also doing to you. ….. solemnly warn them and show them the ways of the king who shall reign over them.” – Samuel 8:7-9

Samuel obeys and warns them and then tells them,

…. you will cry out because of your king, whom you have chosen for yourselves, but he Lord will not answer you in that day.” – Samuel 8:18

Yet the people refused to listen.  It was never God’s plan to have someone else to rule and reign over us.  His perfect plan was to be HIS Kingdom – His rule and reign over His people yet in demanding for a king, the people rejected Him and His perfect plan for us to have authority through Him buy being directly in His Kingdom.  Today of course, God lives in us and thus the Kingdom of God is in us.

God says clearly the people have REJECTED Him in demanding for a king, for someone to rule over them.

We can step back in time even further:

….  the sons of God saw that the daughters of man were attractive. And they took as their wives any they chose….  the sons of God came in to the daughters of man and they bore children to them. These were the mighty men who were of old, the men of renown.  The Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.  And the Lord regretted that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him to his heart. – Genesis 6:2-6

  • What or who is ruling over your life today?
  • What is having a weight in your decisions and priorities?
  • Is it idols in terms of statues or wealth or career that reign over your life over God, or even perhaps ‘attractive daughters of men’ (ie being led astray by those who are unequally yoked or by those who are masquerading as angels of light)?
  • With whom do we keep close company? Sons of God or daughters of men (as in believers or non believers)?
  • How would God feel in the way you are treating Him and the way you are treating one another? What is blocking or enhancing your spiritual life and obedience to God today?

Pray that God will speak to your hearts today, reveal the intentions of your hearts and any areas that need to be set right so that you aren’t rejecting God, for conviction and repentance with surrender to the leading of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

