Playing It Safe

I saw this featured image in my FB newsfeed recently and couldn’t get it off my mind! PLAYING IT SAFE!  Not long after I became a Christian, I felt God giving me Isaiah 61:1:6.  “Preach the good news? Me? No way! I don’t even know the Bible.  Bind the broken hearted? Yeah, I can manage that!”  This couldn’t be for me.  I met up with two women of God who were investing in my spiritual life at that time – and both of them said the same thing.  It could be for a later time, not now. You have just gone through healing and deliverance, this verse signifies that.  Perhaps God is calling you but the time isn’t right now, you are a young Christian and a single adult. Phewwwww… I had just got a job offer for my dream job so I happily accepted that.  Nothing like playing it safe right?  So I told God, ok, I’m ready for full time ministry when your time is right.  In the meantime I will focus on my career.

HOWEVER, one lady rebuked me as I made this decision and told me that I was making a big mistake that God had already called me to full time ministry.  She had told me that before too. I gave her my justification with the backing of the play safe reasons given to me.

People just don’t like to take risks – most people anyway.  There are some who thrive on risks as well.  However, the general world trend is to weigh out the pros and cons and plan.  We love to play it safe.  So we formulate some wonderful theories and map out awesome justifications so that we can remain in the play it safe mode.  In addition to that, we laugh at those who don’t play it safe and call them irresponsible or foolish.

Many Christians remain in their plush comfort zones claiming all this as God given gifts – from their houses, to their cars, to their bank accounts and thus they safe guard it with all their might… Nothing like the cottage with the white picket fence scenario right.

God often places visions on their hearts, He reveals His plans for them… and they go about weighing it out- just like I did and just like those who helped me to do so too!  Yet, God hit me hard and made me lose my job so that He got my attention loud and clear.  He completely took away my desire to work and moulded my heart – and sent me to chase the goals that He had placed on my heart.

We often justify the goals He places on our hearts – we make excuses one after the other so that we don’t have to dare take risks into the unknown.  We say that was my own idea, not God’s… I don’t have the resources or the finances, it isn’t the right time yet, I still have my job and I need it to make ends meet…

Ahhh we conveniently forget and ignore God’s hand and God’s promises.  The Bible? Oh that’s just a reference tool when we feel like it right? Oh.. those stories in the Bible? That was for those days.. Ya we believe in God but those stories were for that time and season. Now we use our mind and our wisdom – after all hasn’t God Himself given those to us?!

Sound familiar?  Have you used all these reasons? Have you heard of others saying them?  If you have, perhaps it’s time NOW to really sit at God’s feet and ask Him what He wants and what your motives and reasons really are?  Are you willing to surrender your flesh at His feet?  Will you desire to do what He has asked you to do and not play it safe?  Will you ask the Holy Spirit to search your heart today?

Bear in mind that SIN isn’t doing all the ‘bad’ stuff but rather not doing what He has called you to do.  Please do not let your hearts get hardened by the ways of the world but instead surrender to His calling on your life… What if He returns today?  Where will you stand?

Remember Jesus has commanded us to:

Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God and His righteousness ..

He promises us that it is THEN that ALL our needs will be added to us. He reassures us that God knows all our needs even BEFORE we ask HIM!

Bear in mind – so that you don’t fool yourself or play it safe – that:

For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are – 1 Corinthians 1:26-28

We may think we know better than God and thus choose to play it safe.

For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways My ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are My ways higher than your ways
and My thoughts than your thoughts – Isaiah 55:8,9

God’s Word tells us:

Behold, You delight in truth in the inward being, and You teach me wisdom in the secret heart – Psalm 51:6

Are you going to bare it all in His presence today? Right now?

DON’T PLAY IT SAFE AND MISS OUT ON THE BEST ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME

– THE ADVENTURE WITH HIM!

Leave a Reply

