Word of Knowledge

I remember many years ago a girl called me out of the blue and excitedly told me that God loves me.  It didn’t make sense that this girl out of all people would be bringing a message to me, and that a message that I already knew full well.  I wouldn’t even be here in Sri Lanka on a yearly visa living by faith for so many years despite all the struggles and prejudices of the ‘religious’ if I didn’t know I was loved by God and this was where He wanted me to be.  The “messenger” was getting a bit annoyed that I didn’t share the excitement and kept insisting that she heard clearly from God that He loved me.  I told her that was something I knew so I didn’t understand why He told you to tell me that.  It wasn’t even at one of those low moments when I used to have doubts either.

Why it didn’t make sense was because I knew this particular messenger had a grudge or perhaps even a competitive spirit against me.  As always when I get a ‘message’ from someone, I took it to my Heavenly Father and asked Him why!

He didn’t answer me then.  However, a year later, I found out the extent to which this messenger had been scheming, doing much stabbing behind the back and messing up a lot of things.  Then God revealed to me that He had shown her how precious I was to Him so that she would stop doing what she had been doing.  Of course this girl hadn’t realised that and instead got carried away thinking that God was using her to encourage me, that she was a ‘chosen’ vessel.  Of course she was a chosen vessel as all of us are.  No matter how much ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ we do, as long as we are drawing closer to God with a surrendered spirit we are ALL chosen vessels and EQUAL in God’s sight. No one is superior than the other. That is something every one of us need to bear in mind.

The issue here was that she had got a revelation and hadn’t waited upon the Lord to know why she had got it and what she needed to do with it.  We all have times where we “err” in this manner.

However, this particular situation and different ones too have taught me that sometimes a word of knowledge about someone else is not necessarily to edify that person, but to convict us of the wrong ways we are treating that person or something that we are lacking in doing.  Remember sin is nothing but missing the mark, which means not doing what God tells us to do.  Jesus made the two greatest commandments very clear. Hence if we don’t love each other as ourselves we are disobeying God. In other words, by that we are actually SINNING.

Recently I was hurt badly by a pastor, which I wrote about in a post  (Throwing Stones) I thank God for reconciliation. My prayer partners and I had been praying that he would be convicted of his wrong doings and repent so that his walk with God will be set right.  Finally a long 3 weeks later, he did.  However, in the process of the conversation where he was trying to ask for forgiveness, he was putting an emphasis on the word of knowledge that God had given him about me, namely the feeling of being alone and being rejected.  He had then begun to pray for me along with his wife for ‘healing’ and trying to console me that they will pray and I will be healed.  As gently as possible, I explained to him that I do not feel loneliness or rejection in God, that if it weren’t for that security I won’t be able to stand strong in Him through all these ups and downs in my ministry life here in Sri Lanka.  I don’t need to live in Sri Lanka on a yearly resident visa.  I told him I am blessed with some solid friends and prayer partners all over the world.  However, I told him that the feelings of loneliness and rejection is from the lack of having a ‘family’ and also the prejudices of the religious leaders here who do not know grace.  I also told him that I thank God for the struggles and experiences as it is through that I receive His comfort and am able to empathise and comfort others.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows – 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

I know that God has revealed my feeling of a lack of belonging with the human family to many people but they have taken it as a revelation to pray for “healing” without considering the possibility that perhaps God has been asking them to embrace me and not reject me.  Doesn’t Jesus say that those who hear God’s word and put it into practice are the family of God?

“My mother and brothers are those who hear God’s word and put it into practice.” – Luke 8:21

If God is revealing something to us about someone, we need to ask

Are we being full of condemnation towards that person?  Are we harming that person or judging that person?  Do we have an attitude of superiority towards that person? What is God showing me through this?  What is God asking me to do as a result of the revelation?

If we are full of God’s love, then we will be spurred onto an action of love,

if within our means that is, not just limit it with intercession.

Leave a Reply

