Pregnant Pause

How we hate pauses, delays, silence….  We want everything to happen NOW…  We pray “God give us patience, but give it to us NOW”!  Well, ok… we may not do that always but is it apt to say we do this most of the time… We simply do not like waiting, we simply do not like inactivity, we simply do not like not having noise around us…  In fact many of us begin to talk with someone or turn on the radio or television because silence bothers us or even perhaps makes us insecure.

Recently – the regular readers of this blog know about this – God led me to a small town – perhaps even ‘village’ in Maharashtra, India.  I was really scared as I only had one contact and that too was not one I could stay with.  Nothing was organised and funds were minimal and I took a step of faith trusting God was taking me to this unfamiliar territory for a purpose.  When I got there, my contact helped me check in a hotel and I stayed there for about 5 days.  Not only were my limited funds running out, I was scared as well – females alone are not really viewed well in these parts of the world.  No accommodation seemed to open up and doors were closing (the blog post on REVOLVING DOORS touches on this aspect of my mission trip in detail).

I was clinging to the Feet of Jesus – trusting in the divine intervention of the Heavenly Father and trusting that the Holy Spirit had indeed led me here to fulfill God’s plan.  The waiting was not easy at all… However, God did not leave me nor forsake me… A door opened to stay with His children – a loving family who embraced me with awesome hospitality.

Waiting is an important factor between each stage of our life…  Imagine a mother having conceived a baby wants the baby immediately, wanting to skip the seemingly long 9 months of pregnancy?  God is able to create a baby instantly – He did create Adam like that didn’t He?  But God has chosen a waiting time for the pregnant mother…  It’s a stage of preparation.

Our spiritual walk is not much different… Samuel gave a few instructions to Saul as to what he should do just then.  Following that Samuel told him,

“Go down ahead of me to Gilgal. I will surely come down to you to sacrifice burnt offerings and fellowship offerings, but you must wait seven days until I come to you and tell you what you are to do.” – 1 Samuel 10:8

Saul had to wait not one, not two, not three but SEVEN days before he was told what he should do next.  Samuel could have easily given all the instructions at once, but he didn’t.  There are many more examples of God leading people somewhere and asking them to wait a while before He reveals the next steps.  Habakkuk prophesied,

For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false.
Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay – Habakkuk 2:3
Joseph saw a vision, but there were many delays and waiting and pruning before the vision was fulfilled.  God uses all these delays and trials and struggles as waiting times to ensure we are being prepared, moulded, tested and to increase our faith in Him.  If we had all the details, we would run ahead of Him and most likely without Him.  However, when we have times of waiting, we can do nothing but cling to His Feet waiting for direction… It increases our intimacy with Him.

Through Isaiah, God promises us:

Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion.

For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!  – Isaiah 30:18

Are you waiting for Him or are you striving in your flesh for Him?  Blessed are all who wait for Him!  Not only does He say we are blessed, He assures us the following:

Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you,

who acts on behalf of those who wait for him”

– Isaiah 64:4

He acts on behalf of those who wait for Him.. not on behalf of those who do things in their own flesh, in their own ways…
I can stand to testify how He acted on behalf of me as I obeyed His leading to go to this unfamiliar place without knowing what to expect… The waiting period was difficult but He surely intervened and it was a fruitful time for His Kingdom.. I saw His favour upon me and yes it was all miraculous.  I still have goosebumps… No plans, no programs, no set agendas and no accommodation sorted out for that matter even.. But He acted on my behalf as I waited in preparation and as I waited when I got there..  All praise and glory be to our Heavenly Father who does not leave us nor forsake us…

 

One thought on “Pregnant Pause

Leave a Reply

