Human Dynamo

Road runner is what comes to my mind when I think of the word ‘dynamo’!  Road runner and its “Beep beep.. out of my way.. I’m on a roll…  ”

Recently I was told that I was a human dynamo… I couldn’t help but chuckle.. Well, imagine if this is now, when I have slowed down a LOTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!! I have always been a doer and it doesn’t help when you are all rounded and have many interests.  However the situation I was in when I was told this, was perhaps just a little reminder from the Lord…

Where I’m staying at present, a metal spiral stairways lead to the back garden which is at a lower level from the ground floor… my room is upstairs.  Initially whenever I had to use these stairways – to dry my washed clothes – I would carefully hold the rail and make my way down reminding myself of my spinal injury of many years ago.. I wouldn’t want to slip and aggravate it into a slipped disc problem right?!  Anyway the rungs of the steps would dig into my bare feet and that was far from comfortable let alone the balancing act (well, should I spell it out that it made me a bit paranoid of spiral steps!).

I decided I was being smart and I kept a pair of flip flops – or rubber slippers or thongs (no, I’m not kidding, that’s what they are called down under) whatever you like to call it -at the top of the steps.  What I hadn’t expected was that one of the guests who came here often would take it and use it indoors… Nothing against sharing but I have a tad of a problem in that my feet are very narrow.. and her feet are wide so ya, they got stretched.  I was a bit paranoid about wearing them down the steps as I didn’t want to slip.  So I reverted to bare foot for a bit but decided to use the slippers and be cautious.

However… yesterday morning… I don’t know what was going on in my mind.. but I ended up going back in time in personality.. and simply DASHED up the steps without a care in the world.. the human dynamo indeed!!!  In the process, I managed to bang my foot under the rim of the bottom of one of the steps… Ouch!! It hurt and I did let out a cry without thinking.  The maid heard me though.  I said it wasn’t anything however I could feel the pain as I kept my foot on the ground.  Knowing that I bruise very easily, I went to get some ice and sat down with it.

As the light fell on the feet, both of us were amazed at the fact that there was a huge blackish blue bruise pretty much covering the upper foot area and it was swollen.. Later I discovered a couple of cuts too.. So I decided best was to apply an ice pack and keep it up and REST… Oh dear, the prohibited word – REST!

What comes into your mind when you hear that word?? Oh how can you?  Are you lazy? Don’t you have stuff to do?  Wish it were possible… it’s not practical..

The interesting part was that just the previous day I had felt very lethargic and out of sorts.  So I had decided that I would take the day off to myself.. and just laze around.. meditating on scripture, reading books and playing word games…  Yes, they have some positive impact for my writing..but it was just about enjoying my own company.  I had refrained from chatting too.. and decided to catch up on my blog writing that had lapsed for a few days the next day..  There was a bit of guilt as I was taking time out for myself.. but I decided I just needed it…

BOOM! the next day I had to dash my feet while I dashed up the steps! Talk about irony!  Obviously the Lord thought one day wasn’t enough and had allowed this to make me REST..

Our lives can be so intertwined with ‘activity’ (and I’m talking about ministry too.. as I spend much time with hurting people and Christian writing) and ‘goals’ and ‘timelines’ that REST is considered lazy!  Hang on, did we say ‘goals’ and ‘timelines’??? Who placed them?  Did God say you have to do it by this time, or is it something we have IMPOSED on ourselves and perhaps others?  Well, when God was leading people into their calling, I can’t recall any particular timelines given to them, let alone “goals”.

There have been promises and visions and assurances.. but no goals, no timelines, but rather simple obedience – one step at a time.. Some had an overall vision and knew their anointing but they had no idea as to when that would be fulfilled and invariably took many years in the end.

We just don’t take to REST well.. but often our hyped up lives could be an indication of something else.. Often we cover up insecurities or find our worth in what we do.. Isn’t that how we often strike conversations with someone we have just met?  Hence we are unable to sit still… let alone REST.  Worse, we tend to condemn the one who does let go and let God saying “denial” or “lazy”.  But truth be told, we don’t like silence… we need noise as if silence would be our greatest enemy!  How often are we able to enjoy our own company?

The two greatest commandments revolve around 3 relationships – that with God, with our neighbour and ourselves.  We need to love our neighbours as ourselves.. and seriously if we can’t enjoy downtime with ourselves, if we are afraid to be with ourselves alone, how can others do so?

“Not without design does God write the music of our lives. Be it ours to learn the time, and not be discouraged at the rests. They are not to be slurred over, not to be omitted, not to destroy the melody, not to change the keynote. If we look up, God himself will beat the time for us. With the eye on him, we shall strike the next note full and clear.”  – John Ruskin (1819–1900)

Leaving with you another quote – one I saw on FB recently..

“When we break free from our addiction to noise and activity by practicing silence and solitude,

we’re better able to truly listen to God..”  (Todays Christian Woman.com)

and just a last comment from me…

Worship leads us there but don’t let the worship steal the show 🙂

Leave a Reply

