Bored Stiff

Hmm… I will admit that I’m the hyper-active fidgety type, yet one who needs a long night’s sleep (to make up for this I suppose). Sitting in one place doesn’t sit well with me. Well, I’m sure those who know me in person will vouch for me on this count. However, I find myself having to sit still – as tough as it is.. Forced to do so, ie to be still since Friday and it’s now already Tuesday. In fact as a result I haven’t even been at my laptop for more than a few minutes here and there over the course of the day. Goodness and I’m literally BORED STIFF!

You may have guessed it by now.. I injured my spine a few years ago, and time to time it flares up. If I’m not careful, it will end up in a disc problem putting me to bed rest for a few months at a stretch. So now, when the back starts to ache and pull, I HAVE to rest… Lifting the slightest of things and bending are agonizing tasks… At least now I’m able to walk without pain from yesterday which is a great blessing.. but not enough for getting back into daily life. I’m finally able to sit up with my back being supported and type!! yippeeeee…. That I’m actually writing this blog post – but with plenty of breaks. Yet I need to keep a check on myself and not lean forward into the laptop or turn to the left or right or backwards when I get carried away with my work… Thankfully I’m at a friend’s place and she has been the police officer chiding me when she sees me in bent position 🙂

So, yes, I have been bored STIFF these last few years, not having had discovered this position.  Oh but then again, lifting the laptop even today has been tough so there is no way I could have discovered this position over the last few days… It was all about getting numb lying straight or perhaps to my right but not towards my comfortable posture of lying on my left side let alone being curled into a ball!

The preceding weeks have been like the ants scurrying about with their matters.  Situations and circumstances had left me to going about a lot.  The buses in Sri Lanka are not the best for someone with a back problem – the drivers are often in a haste competing with other buses and the conductors literally push you out of the bus or pull you in!  Then of course females often end up sitting in awkward uncomfortable postures to avoid being prey to fellow passengers who are perverse and think that all females are a gift to them as sexual objects.  With all this, and shuffling to and fro roughing out at friend’s houses, my back got the butt end of it all.. So yes, it is no wonder then that my back has begun to protest, crying out for rest!

God surely does have a sense of humour.   He has His way of calling us to rest in Him – literally… and to be still and wait for Him.  I’m literally expected to be still – well if I don’t want my back pain to flare up into a disc problem that is.  I write for a few minutes then I stretch my back and lie down.  Then I come back again in a while for a few more minutes!  I can’t turn to the left or the right or bend forward.  Nope, I need to be where I need to be, not to go ahead of myself nor sway away.

The following verses cannot but help come to my mind!

Do not turn aside from any of the commands I give you today, to the right or to the left, following other gods and serving them.  (Deuteronomy 28:14).

The ‘blessings’ or ‘rewards’ of doing so are outlined in both Deuteronomy chapter 5:32 and 28:10-14.

So be careful to do what the LORD your God has commanded you; do not turn aside to the right or to the left. Walk in all the way that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess (Deuteronomy 5:32).

How often do we turn to the left or the right to follow other ‘gods’ and serve them?  Whatever we do, even if it is for the Lord, if isn’t what He has told us to do – we can easily get carried away with ‘activities’ that He hasn’t ordained for us, – then we are turning aside.  Yes, the verses above are in context of the 10 commandments and laws without a doubt.  However, the application for us today is in a different context.  We are now led by the Holy Spirit, God dwells within us and now we are not under law as the work of Christ on the cross has been accomplished.  Thus our response is to do what God tells us not out of a sense of obligation but rather because He we rest assured that He loves us and thus He has paved the way for us to be closer with Him.. We know that He knows what’s best for us, that He sees the whole picture and He will never leave us nor forsake us.

Thus we desire to hear His voice, discern His perfect will for our lives and walk in the narrow path… without turning to the right or to the left … and without running ahead of ourselves or God for that matter and without procrastinating and falling behind!!! Just in the position He wants us to be – not out of fear but because we know God knows best…

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)

How many of us can resonate with the Psalmist in his 4th Psalm vs 2-5?

“How long, O you sons of men,  Will you turn my glory to shame?  How long will you love worthlessness And seek falsehood?- Selah

But know that the Lord has set apart for Himself him who is godly;  The Lord will hear when I call to Him.

Be angry, and do not sin.  Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still.  – Selah

Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, And put your trust in the Lord.

I suppose God has made me “meditate within my heart on my bed, and be still” – bored stiff but yet be still and be filled spiritually, equipping me for what lies ahead.

Yes, despite the circumstances around us, may we offer the sacrifices of righteousness and put our trust in the Lord..

Leave a Reply

