Tears…

My younger nephew has a way of making the dullest of rooms shine! (oh ya… perhaps I’m being partial here!) A few years back when they were down on holiday, we spent the day at a resort. I was catching up with my brother watching the boys and their cousins play in the pool. Suddenly the younger one came stomping out of pool, his emotions nothing like the cool blue water! Tears were streaming down this angelic face. He marched upto his father all the while whining away. To be honest, I had to suppress my giggles as he also looked rather cute in his despair. Ironically it reminded me of how I used to be as a child (and ummm.. perhaps into my early adulthood too… oops). He let out steam, let his father cuddle him for a few minutes and then stood looking back at the scene of ‘crime’ where his older brother and cousins had irritated him or perhaps even excluded him.

Suddenly he was back right there with the other boys. One thing that really stunned me was this is how I am when faced with an issue… I would march out of the scene, whining and crying… then I would give some time to calm down, regain determination and then go back and face the music… Now this was my nephew who looks a lot like me doing the same thing – and trust me it wasn’t learned behaviour as he hardly sees me, let alone maybe even know that I am his paternal aunt! DNA does play a part!

My nephew left the situation where he was struggling to cope to go to his safe zone, his comfort zone – right to his father’s arms. He waited there for a bit and then literally faced the situation – he first seemed to take it in from a distance and then plonk, he was right there in the midst of it.

I think we can all learn a spiritual lesson from this, a well known but often neglected approach to persevere where GOd has placed us. We are human beings and we will become emotional. Don’t let anyone condemn you for being emotional as God has created us with emotions!  David writes in one of his Psalms, “I am weary with my groaning, all night I make my bed swim; I drench my couch with my tears” (6:6).  We know the longest line in the Bible is, “Jesus wept” and we also know the instances where Jesus was moved with compassion and other times when He was angry.  Being a Christian is being a REAL person, not a hypocrite. Jesus outrighly condemned hypocrites.

Peter was a highly emotional character. Despite going all the way with Jesus even as he was ‘arrested’, he couldn’t handle it. Fear struck him, he denied Jesus three times and he fell away after Jesus was crucified. Jesus made His appearance after the resurrection and without condemning Peter’s emotions that caused him to fall away, Jesus re-instated Peter to what he was called for – to be a shepherd to feed Jesus’ lambs and sheep! Take heart beloved brother / sister! Take heart! Let no one else condemn you for your fears but ensure you entrust yourself to your Shepherd!

It’s ok to cry and whine when we face a situation, but let’s do that at the feet of the cross. Remember He sees your tears – He is Sovereign, isn’t He?

“Record my lament; list my tears on your scroll – are they not in your record?” – Psalm 56:8 (NIV)

Be encouraged and not condemned,

Those who sow in tears shall reap in joy.  He who continually goes forth weeping, bearing seed for sowing, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.” – Psalm 126:5,6

Let’s stomp right into our Heavenly Father’s arms who is waiting to embrace you, to envelope you with His love…. Find your peace and solace through that. Be still and know that He is God…

But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles,

they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31 – NKJV)

On the other hand, when we see another believer in tears, let us not condemn emotions (whether it be grief, hurt, pain, fear etc) but rather show grace.  Let us encourage each other, build each other up and share one another’s burdens all the while allowing them to renew their strength by waiting on the Lord.

God makes ALL things beautiful in HIS time. 

Leave a Reply

