Opposition

So… as I mentioned in the post https://priyanthiv.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/family-of-god/ ………….

During the time I went without a laptop, a few people (perhaps I could fittingly say quite a few people) suggested that perhaps God didn’t want me to have one.  Really? Do I really think God didn’t want me to have a laptop when a number of my ministries were based on this?  Do I really think God didn’t want me to have a laptop given the fact that it was only 7 months prior to the theft that I had started this blog? – and that  after much procastination too due to hesitation and fear despite God’s continued nudging to get on with the blog!  (This blog has actually made me stand much in awe of God seeing how His inspiration and revelation was touching people and reaching out to a number of countries in an increasing manner.  I’m merely the vessel and I know that.)

I couldn’t help wonder what the motives were behind these responses from people…. I’m sure most of them did have my best interest at heart (but did they have God’s best interest at heart is the question?) and perhaps it was their attempt of encouraging me. Was it perhaps for a few, their subconscious desire to show that they are ‘spiritual’?  If they had indeed prayed and sought God’s words before they uttered those words, then that would have been a totally different story.  The human side of me couldn’t help but question whether in some cases the motive was envy (the ‘downfall’ of another) and thus even perhaps delight that the writing had come to a standstill?  Could they not see this whole situation from a kingdom perspective?  In fact the responses from other ‘Christians’ caused me to doubt, doubt whether I was indeed in the right place doing what God wanted me to do…  It certainly didn’t build me up but literally tore me down…

Besides, here I am without family in a country where I hardly lived – despite it being my country of birth and of my ancestors.  My lifestyle here in Sri Lanka has been rather basic without a television or radio or a CD player or DVD player or a washing machine for that matter.  Even my phones are basic phones and I don’t own a tablet or a kindle or any other electronic devices.  I guess I don’t have to tell you then what it really meant being without a laptop then…  Did people understand that or did they even care what it really cost me when they uttered those responses?

It obviously drove me to God’s Feet more and more.  I increasingly sought His Face.  Being without a laptop doesn’t matter as long as I’m in the centre of His Will… That is what my heart beats for.  I felt God leading me to a certain incident that a certain character had to face in the Bible.

DANIEL!

Daniel set his mind to gain understanding and humble himself before God (10:12).  What happened next?  The heavenly messenger told Daniel that he had come in response to Daniel’s words.  He continued, “But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty one days.  Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia” (10:13).

Barnes’ notes on the Old Testament point out the fact that Daniel had just fulfilled three weeks of mourning (fasting).  3 weeks = 21 days the same duration of resistance that the angel had faced.

  • Would it have been God’s will that the Prince of Persia would oppose the heavenly messenger to answer Daniel’s prayer? 
  • Or is it the work of the evil one to try to destroy, or at the very least hinder the work of the Lord?
  • How do you respond to a situation where someone is hindered from continuing a ministry that they were doing?  How do you respond when it is a family member facing opposition for God’s Work?

Interestingly, the one who looked like a man also said, “Soon I will return to fight against the prince of Persia, and when I go, the prince of Greece will come” (10:20).  This was expected to take place AFTER the word of understanding was revealed to Daniel. 

I’m fascinated by the fact that not only did the messenger face resistance while he was bringing the revelation to Daniel but also afterwards, and that too in increased opposition (not just the prince of Persia but also the prince of Greece!)

Paul writes to the Ephesians, “Put on the full armour of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes” (6:11).  In fact Paul with utmost certainity (he doesn’t wonder whether the devil would scheme but knows it) gives the reason as to why he urges the believers to do so….

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world, and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms” (Ephesians 6:12).

Wasn’t the desire to rule and take over the very reason why Satan was thrown out of heaven? 

Spiritual warfare is real.  Not only do we often become complacent when it comes to the Lord’s work, we tend to also cover up with religious jargon and show ourselves spiritual.  “I will be praying” or “That person isn’t called for ministry” or “It’s not God’s timing yet for the individual to serve” or even “That person is pretending to be gifted – he/she is really out  of their mind” etc etc.  Didn’t Jesus say that workers are few but the harvest is plentiful (Matthew 9:37)?  We need to be alert of the devil’s schemes instead of playing into his hands and aiding Satan to hinder or destroy God’s work.

Be sober, be vigilant;  because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour” (1 Peter 5:8 NKJV).

We need to take a stand for God’s Kingdom.  Intercessory prayer is indeed important and often there are times where we can’t do much other than prayer.  However that shouldn’t give us an excuse to be complacent.  Often we are complacent due to sheer laziness (just can’t be bothered to go the extra mile) or because we want to expand our own kingdoms rather than God’s – so we can’t stand someone else bearing fruit.  THere could be several other reasons too.  However it is key that we continuously yield our hearts to God and be Kingdom minded so that we can be vigilant.

Leave a Reply

