Not as it seems

Being away from ‘home’ (or perhaps I should say ‘homes’ to be more accurate), my laptop had been my best companion.  Although I have been back in the country of my birth for about 8 years, my outlook doesn’t allow me to ‘belong’ as such here.  When I travelled back to my place of birth this week, I felt a stranger.  I’m just so different – well, I have to be I suppose given my exposure to various cultures by living in different parts of the world.  I have to admit it is my rooting and security in God that enables me to continue to live here.

I have now been without a laptop for close to a month.  One of my biggest regrets of not having it was the joy of writing being taken away.  Yet I knew deep in my heart, with or without my laptop let alone with or without me, God’s work will carry on. I do not have access to a laptop much.  When I get to use my housemate’s laptop, I don’t have time to write articles or work on my books or the magazine.  (However I am grateful to her that she tries as much as possible to let me use it given the amount of work she does on it as well keeping in touch with her boyfriend and family who are back in the USA – her home).  So when I do get it, my priority is to check email.  Writing blogs and going on facebook follows.

Despite all these obstacles, blog posts have been materialising and being posted even though it at much less of a frequency.  Yet there have been views every single day and people are being touched.

The enemy will come to steal, kill and destroy.  He even often uses other Christians to do so.  In fact the only suspect I have for the theft of my laptop – the tool for my work for God – is a professing Christian holding a position at his church.  Am I to be surprised?  No, I had never liked this person and had kept away from him.  His face always reflected bad fruit as far as I was concerned and I was never fooled by his position.  The fact is even those of us who long to walk in Christ, yielded to Him can easily be used by the enemy.

I’m reminded of Peter.  Jesus predicted His death and explained to the disciples what was to happen.  Out of love and concern, Peter jumped to tell Him that it couldn’t happen.  In fact the Bible records that Peter “REBUKED” Jesus (Matthew 16:22).  Jesus turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.” (16:23).

The fact is whether we do ‘good’ or ‘bad’, if God wants to use us for His Kingdom, He will.  Whether the enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy, nothing can stop God’s work from being carried out.  He doesn’t need you or me.  Yet He still uses us – even if the enemy has indeed stolen and destroyed.  It is indeed a privilege to be used by Him for His glory and for His Kingdom.

We don’t need to fret when the enemy has ‘succeeded’ in our lives.  It seemed as if Satan had succeeded to put an end to Jesus.  However reality was quite different.  Things are not always what they seem to be.  God had allowed the time of fleshly death of Jesus to reveal His glory.  Likewise, God had allowed the death of Lazarus for His glory too.

On the other hand, we need to remind ourselves that Satan used the very Peter who loved Jesus and who was always around Him.  How much more then can we be used by the enemy? How often do we have in mind the things of men instead of the things of God?  Our perspectives are often founded on the things of men – our values are derived by culture and education and traditions and perhaps even religiousness and legalism…. How often are our values derived from God’s Word based on both sides of the coin of God’s love and grace and mercy as well as the other side of truth and justice?  Are we able to balance both just as God does with us?  If it weren’t for His forgiveness of all my sins, I won’t be able to stand at all.

We need to continually allow the things of God to fill our minds.

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (Romans 12:2)
Often the patterns of this world influence the way we study God’s Word.  We interpret His Word through the patterns of this world.  Jesus was never legalistic, it wasn’t about rules and regulations but instead He is the blemish free Lamb as much as He is the Lion of Judah.
God doesn’t need us to do His Work – He can do it Himself but He has decided to delegate His authority to us.  Count it a privilege but don’t abuse the privilege.  Let the focus and glory always be on Him… and fret not when things don’t seem to be going the way we expect.. He is doing something great and beautiful to reveal His glory!
No matter what, His Work will continue… because He is Supreme and Almighty.  What a mighty God we serve!
Leave a Reply

