In the Minority

It was a Saturday.  Wanting to get away from being inside the house, I decided to relax and enjoy a meal at KFC.  While I was eating alone at a table for two, I noticed mostly everyone was there with someone else if not with a gang of friends.  That was hard enough to cope with while I put up a brave face as if I was enjoying my own company.  Then came along groups of school kids who decided to take the tables and chairs near me while crowding me and edging me away so that they could enjoy themselves.  It was horrible.  I couldn’t bear it any longer so I decided to just forget the meal and get out of the crowded noisy place that wouldn’t allow me to simply relax.

I often feel the choices I have made in my life leads to a certain level of loneliness…

No, I don’t regret my choices as I couldn’t be in a better place than in the centre of God’s Will. 

The joy of the Lord is indeed my strength.

However on a human level, there are times my emotions can’t handle the rejection (especially that of Christians), the labelling, the hurt… because of my choices and values; time to time I hit a low.  There are other times when I watch my friends being able to spend as they wish.  I then miss my ‘old’ life – my ‘worldly’ life.  At times I wonder whether having a partner would make any difference.

My choices are not irrevocable – they are CHOICES.  Yet I am grateful that my current choices to obey God to serve in Sri Lanka (the place which is not ‘home’ for me) while living by faith, allows me to spend each moment of the day and each cent that I am blessed with, in a way that He would want me to… to fulfil His purpose and for my own good.  Being in the minority is tough!

I can look back and thank God for the ways He has prepared me to know what it is like to be in the minority…  Growing up in the UK at a time where other nationalities were still a minority… living in Sri Lanka where my ethnicity is a minority… pursuing an Engineering degree in New Zealand where females were a minority (and I was the only “Asian” in our particular discipline)… working in I.T. in Canada where once again females were a minority (I was the only female in our department)… and being back in Sri Lanka now as a Christian where Christians are also a minority.

Believers being in the minority was common in Biblical times – and we aren’t exempt from it now either!

Despite his parents and siblings ridiculing him and torturing him, Joseph took a stand in faith knowing the visions that God had given him would be fulfilled.  He stood in the minority to obey God!  Daniel and his 3 friends were the minority who chose not to defile themselves with the royal food and wine (Daniel chapter 1).  Little David stood up against the giant Goliath – despite none of the other Israelites coming forward.  He was in the minority but he put his trust in the LORD who had delivered him “from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear” (1 Samuel 17:37).

Exodus 12:37 records 600,000 Israelite men (in addition to women and children) journeying out of Egypt.  We know that Israel was the CHOSEN nation. However, only Joshua and Caleb entered the Promised Land as they were the only ones who took a stand in faith in God.  Once again they were the minority.  There are countless other examples of men and women of God having to be in the minority to make a stand for their faith and they did not perish alongside with the majority.  The majority made choices to follow the ways of the world – to indulge and be comfortable.

They all made a choice and had a price to pay on this earth but only to be rewarded with the matchless privilege of worshipping God forever and ever, whilst those who were in the majority –who relished earthly pleasures – ended up burning in hell.

Jesus too was in the minority.  His disciples, the ones who were with Him day and night, rejected Him and the people of Israel, the very ones His Father had created, ill-treated Him and nailed Him to the cross.

In fact Jesus had already warned His disciples and followers, “Enter through the narrow gate.  For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.  But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it” (Matthew 7:13-14)

We need to be wary of our decisions and whether we are entering the road that leads to destruction or whether we are indeed going through the small gate and onto the narrow road that leads to life.  The words “ONLY A FEW FIND IT” are words of caution for you and for me.  Even as we see the examples above, only 2 men entered the Promised Land out of the 600,000 men from the CHOSEN generation.  The disciple Judas was with Jesus 24×7 literally but ultimately died and missed out on the opportunity to dwell in Heaven because he chose to take the road that leads to destruction.

We may consider ourselves “Christians”.  However, believers walk along the narrow path… They make conscious decisions as painful and lonely as it may get, because their focus is on the things above.
“Christians” won’t understand or encourage you, but other “believers” will….  Why? If you truly believed, you will understand God’s Word is the same yesterday, today and forever.  You will know God’s Word never changes and is for those of us who believe and heed His Voice.

Rejoice in all circumstances and thank God that “blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me” (Matthew 5:11).

7 thoughts on “In the Minority

    1. Praise God that it was a timely read…. I felt really burdened to write on it although I was hesitant to admit it publically… yes I know that minority feeling all too well… and I think it’s a part of our walk!

      Like

      1. Not a bad joke at all but a spiritual truth (which I have shared with others before)… God took rest showing how important rest is for us. There was FIRST night and THEN day… another hint. And yes, we need to follow the model of creation – and remember it’s not about doing 🙂
        Glad you have got your priorities right! xox

        Like

Leave a Reply

