A Ray of Hope

The sky begins to turn dark and no, it’s not even close to time for sunset. I just feel it in my spirit that God would splash the brilliant hues across the sky… vibrant and attractive, yet in an orderly fashion. In excited anticipation, perhaps rather childlike, I share this with others around me. (Hmm I have no idea what really went on in their minds at that time!!). However, I know that the moment of awe is yet to arrive. I return to letting my fingers record what is on my heart… with a grateful heart for technology as I just can’t imagine writing as fast as I type! My thoughts become totally engrossed in what I was doing. A little while later, a gush of wind makes its grand entrance through the open door from one side of the room. The other door bangs shut with a thud. Through ushering in the coolness of the evening sea side breeze and of course the shuddering noise created through abruptly and forcefully closing the door, the wind marks its presence. It reminds me of the weather outside. Could it be the Lord getting my attention? Could it be that the moment for me to joyfully enjoy His gift that had finally arrived? It must be!  It had to be! I run outside and look up.

Sure enough there it was in the midst of the dark passing clouds. The sun was slowly descending on the other side of the building, hidden from my sight. It never ceases to amaze me how the sky can be overcast yet bright at the same time! I suppose it’s similar to the way we have mixed feelings about things time to time!

How blessed are we to serve a Living God, who is THE Creator. Can we even attempt to paint a rainbow in the sky? Can the vibrancy be replicated let alone the rays of coloured light in a perfect arc shape? How often do we pause from our busy schedules to appreciate the gifts that God has for us, the gifts that aren’t materialistic but those that delight our senses? Do we even realise that God does speak to us in various ways, including through nature – His masterpiece, His handiwork?

Let’s take a step back into Biblical times, closer to the beginning. “The sons of God saw that the daughters of men were beautiful, and they married any of them they chose… The sons of God went to the daughters of men and had children by them. They were the heroes of old, men of renown. The Lord saw how great man’s wickedness on the earth had become… The LORD was grieved that He had made man on the earth, and His heart was filled with pain”, so He decided to wipe mankind from the face of the earth (Genesis 6:1-7).

Noah and his family were spared. In order to save their lives, detailed instructions as to how to build the ark, what to take on it etc were given. The preparation time took YEARS, many years! The floods came and the ‘residents’ of the ark were spared. God then established a covenant with Noah and his sons, “Never again will all life be cut off by the waters of a flood; never again will there be a flood to destroy the earth” (Genesis 9:11). He then said, “I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth” (Genesis 9:13).

The bright vibrant hues of the rainbow in the midst of the dark clouds serve as a ray of hope in the darkness of trials and uncertainties. God gives us a sign of promise despite the situations that may be threatening to cave in on us; He will not destroy us by flood, by the heavy rains.

However we do know for those who do not believe in Jesus as their personal Saviour, and thus do not repent of their sins and invite Him to be presidents of their hearts, their lives will not be spared… They will be destroyed by burning fires instead.

  • What choices are you making that grieve God, that pain His heart today? Are you hoping to marry anyone you choose, especially a non-believer or are you wanting to be men of renown rather than delight in being children of God?
  • What is the situation that is pressing on you today? Is it all darkness that you can see or are you able to see the ray of hopes, the signs of God’s promises? 
  • What are the passing clouds in your life? What does the rainbow represent?

Footnote!!

I wrote this article in the morning before rushing out somewhere. When I got back home early afternoon, we were welcomed with the tsunami scare and utmost panic. In fact, while out at a shop nearby, we felt the tremors of the earthquake there. For the last few weeks, I have crashed at an Elders Home, right with the beach while on the lookout for a place of my own… the back garden here adjoins the shore. However, I was calm as I realised the article this morning (and the series of 4 rainbows over this last week, which included 3 in a row) were nothing but a promise from God.

Sure enough the tsunami warnings were merely scares. I feel so sorry for the many people running away from their homes with overnight bags and chaos. We have God to protect and the belief that death is not the end but the beginning of an eternal life worshipping Him!

4 thoughts on “A Ray of Hope

  1. I love nature, when I sit back and look at the wonders before me, it is one of the times I just cannot deny the presence and power of God. Thank God for hope and using nature (for example a rainbow) to comfort us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

