Just For the Day

Living by faith isn’t easy.  It’s even harder when you have had finer things in life and have to give them up.  This becomes yet harder when well meaning people discourage your walk by faith and urge you to ‘make use’ of your qualifications and work and earn money.  They struggle watching your struggles…  As a friend of mine mentioned, it makes him go crazy.  However, I recall a lady whom I consider my spiritual mother tell me a few years ago, that she wishes she could get me out of this walk, but knows that God is allowing this path for a purpose.  Thus she concluded that she will hold my hand through it instead.  God hasn’t been providing in abundance ahead of time, but rather He has been meeting my needs at what I would say the 11th hour.  He surely does have a sense of humour to place such a calling on the life of this girl (ok ok lady… whatever…) who would plan months ahead with a decent salary!

In fact, I hadn’t realised how He had prepared me through a Rhema word, years before He urged me to make this decision to live by faith.  God would repeatedly give me this particular verse either from the book of Kings or from the book of Jeremiah:  “Day by day the king gave Jehoiachin a regular allowance as long as he lived” (2 Kings 25:26, Jeremiah 52:34).  The phrase “day by day” stood out then and it still continues to stand out.  He didn’t promise “month by month” or even “week by week”.

I do think of the Israelites often.  The LORD told Moses that He will rain down bread for the people each day to gather enough for that day (Exodus 16:2).  Just for THAT day only!  However, they were not content with the manna even though they got the stomach filled.  They began to crave other food and began to remember what they ate in Egypt at no cost (Numbers 11:4-6).  The LORD’s arm was not too short.  He drove quail in from the sea – once again just for the day.

If we are honest with ourselves, we can all identify with the Israelites.  We are never content with what we have.  We long for what we had once upon a time or what we think we need, and that right now too!

Why were the Israelites taken through this journey?  Moses told them, “He gave you manna to eat in the desert, something your fathers had never known, to humble and to test you so that in the end it might go well with you.  You may say to yourself, ‘My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me’.” (Deuteronomy 8:16).  We do tend to take pride in the work of our hands, of our achievements – especially when it comes to wealth.

Jesus warns us not to store up for ourselves treasures on earth.  Instead He urges us to store up treasures in heaven (Matthew 6:19-20).  If we trusted God, would we be storing up riches for the future?  It’s not easy living ‘day by day’.

No, not all are called to live by faith and that I believe is also for a time and season.  Perhaps God wants me to live like Jehoiachin, getting a daily allowance as long as he lived.  Perhaps, it may also be ok to have some hope that such a season is now coming to an end for me.  After all, the Israelites were told to observe the commands of the LORD their God, “walking in His ways and revering Him.”  They were promised, “For the LORD your God is bringing you into a good land” (Deuteronomy 8:6-7).

Having said that we need to be wary of where our motives lie when it comes to the arena of earning a living.

Where do you stand today? 

Do you say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me”? Will God have to rebuke you, “Your heart has become proud and you have forgotten me”?

Are you content with what God has given you, or are you wanting more?

 

One thought on “Just For the Day

Leave a Reply

