Resting in Him…

Over a week of being in bed, resting due to a combination of ill health… arrghhhh!   How difficult it is to rest, to keep the eyes closed and not strain them.  Longingly I neared my laptop but within a few seconds, the brightness of the screen got my eyes squinting and acted as a repellent.  Did I switch it off?  No! “What if I get healed all of a sudden?  Then I can get back to work without wasting any more time!”  That was my understanding of it anyway.  Come on, after all we do live in a world where not doing anything is considered being LAZY.  “Output, efficiency, progress, achievements,” – terms that define to us today what life is all about.

However, God kept tugging at my heart.  “Be still my child, rest in ME!” He said.  “Lord, there is so much to do” I replied.   Well, that line seemed to fall on deaf ears.  (Ok, that’s metaphorically speaking as we all know that God is Sovereign and there is NOTHING that He doesn’t know!  Psalm 139:4 says, “Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.”)   And yes, the verse on the crosswalk card that was posted on FB after my return to the e-world was “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him” (Psalm 37:7).

During this time of simply resting, I kept seeing a vision of Jesus surrounded by children.  It reminded me of the incident where the disciples rebuked the people for bringing children to Jesus.  We can see that Jesus wasn’t happy about that!  In fact He called the children to Him and commanded that no one should hinder them.  We know Jesus was always about His Father’s business.  Yet, He made time for the little ones too.

This whole picture made me realise we are all striving – whether it be in our careers or even ministry… Are we missing the point?  Aren’t all the laws and commandments summed up in the two greatest commandments of loving God with all our mind, soul, heart and strength and loving our neighbour as ourselves?

We say we love God, but seriously if we are honest with ourselves, how hard it is for us to spend days on end with Him and Him alone!  Take away family & friends, take away our e-world and our electronic gadgets, take away our gourmet cooking etc etc.  I guess this is what Jesus meant when He said “Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:42).  Martha was doing ministry – but the Bible records she was ‘distracted’ by all the preparations… Jesus told her she was “worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed” and He pointed out the example of Mary!

What is it today that you can’t be without? 

If all is taken away, can you love God with all your heart, all your mind, all your soul and all your strength?

 

Leave a Reply

